Reviling and Defending

What would you do if someone verbally attacked you for no sensible reason, to you and family; for hours, and days, continually, and purposely shamed you? You wouldn’t do what I did recently. Most of the time I remember what Christ went through, beaten, spat upon , whipped to shreds, stabbed with a spear, hung on a cross. Who am I to backbite and defend myself with words, when Christ DID NOT revile back…

1 Peter 2:19-25
19 For this is admirable, if because of conscience toward God someone endures pain, suffering unjustly.
20 For what glory is it, if when you sin and are beaten, you endure? But if when you do good and suffer for it, you endure, this is admirable before God.
21 For to this you were called, because Christ also suffered for us, leaving behind an example for you, that you should follow in His footsteps,
22 “Who committed no sin, nor was deceit found in His mouth”;
23 who, being verbally abused, did not return verbal insults, when He suffered, He did not threaten, but committed Himself to Him who judges righteously;
24 who Himself bore our sins in His body on the tree, in order that having died to sins, we might live unto righteousness–by whose stripes you were healed.
25 For you were like sheep going astray, but you have turned back now to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.


After the initial confrontation, and me opening my mouth to say what wasn’t mine to say. I took the child I watch during the week to the park to get out of the house (the other party is a member of my household) and calm down. As I was sitting there watching her play, the tears started coming, sorrowful for what I did. The Lord showed me through the children who were playing what I had just done back at my house. The little girl I watch was being chased and bugged by this group of boys(4yr olds); so much to the point of turning around and attempting to strike one of them with her hand. I immediately got up and stopped her in her tracks to tell her that what she did was wrong, After confronting her about it, a woman who runs a preschool program at the park came up and defended what the girl did. I know this woman personally, who is a confessing christian.

Do we as the body of Christ think and assume it is okay to do what is totally opposite to what he showed us? Absolutely not! Determining the rules of the race ourselves is walking in the flesh not the Spirit. And literally making ourselves our own god and an idol.
It wasn’t okay to defend myself either. If my words were coming from my flesh not in the Spirit of holiness, then how can I trust that my words are true. Love speaks the truth(1Cor 13). I sure wasn’t loving when my words were hurting another person. God is our defense…

Psalms 7:10 My defense is on God, who saves the upright of heart.
Psalms 59:1 To the chief musician. Do not destroy. A secret treasure of David, when Saul sent, and they watched the house to kill him. Deliver me from my enemies, O my God; Defend me from the ones who rise up against me.
Psalms 59:9 O my Strength, let me look to You; for God is my defense.


How do we overcome the accusations, lies, and such that are coming from this world and the enemy(satan) himself?

Revelation 12:10-11
10 And I heard a great voice saying in Heaven, Now has come the salvation and power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of His Christ, because the accuser of our brothers is thrown down, the one accusing them before our God day and night.
11 And they overcame him because of the blood of the Lamb, and because of the Word of their testimony. And they did not love their soul even until death.


According to Rev 12:11, We have have already overcome because of Jesus’ sacrifice, we are overcoming by continually putting to death the flesh, and we will overcome when we leave this life/body behind to go onto glory…Amen.

Leave a Reply

